Our School Parliament

Our school parliament are voted for by their class peers every year to represent the pupil voice in our school. We believe it is very important that the children in our school have their voice heard when decisions are being made that affect their lives, and are actively involved in decision-making processes.
Each child who wants to represent their class creates a manifesto and presents it to their class in preparation for our whole school election day! Our parliament then ensure they make a difference to life at our school by meeting after-school on the first Monday of every month. They split off into different departments to discuss and organise events and issues across the school, and communicate any updates with their peers through discussions in class, their parliament noticeboard display and this website!
To be a Member of Parliament, the pupils must ensure they are always following our three school rules:
Follow instructions with thought and care
Show good manners at all times
Care for everyone and everything
Your Members of Parliament for this year are:  

Little Doves: Jowan and Leo 
Little Fish: Livia and Jacob 
Little Lambs: Ami and Jude 
Pelicans: Karys and Lara
Peacocks: Alex and Connor
Phoenix: Jamie and Ghanja 
Angels: Jaxon and Annie
Faith: Isla and Emma
Hope: Henry and Ben 

Previous achievements! 
We recently created questions to ask teachers interviewing to work at our school. It was lots of fun asking them our questions through Zoom and we fed back our thoughts to Mrs Carmichael!
Thank you to everyone who supported us with our Match Attax sale at breaktimes. We raised over £40 for future School Parliament projects! 
After out Harvest collection, some of our MPs took all of our Harvest Festival food to the food bank. The staff there were very grateful and said a big well done! They couldn't believe how much food we brought! 
Some of our KS2 MPs visited Bethel Park with Cornwall Councillor, Janine. 
We gave her lots of ideas about what she could do with the space and we fed back what our classes had suggested to us in our Class Voice time. She agreed that it needed a path and more equipment and liked the idea of new goal posts with an AstroTurf pitch!  
Minutes from Meetings!
Unfortunately, due to Covid-19, our School Parliament have been unable to meet as regularly as they would usually to protect our class bubbles from popping! We are looking forward to meeting up again more regularly when restrictions are lifted.
Our School Parliament have worked extremely hard to actively listen to our student voices and take on board the opinions and ideas of their peers, and it has been rewarded! We have now earned both our Bronze and Silver Learner Participation Awards, and were very proud to have them presented to us at Truro County Hall! 
We will now be working towards our Gold Learner Participation Award. 

Why have Learner Participation?

It creates strong lines of communication and positive links among the school community.

Effective learner participation in schools can lead to:

  • Improved learner engagement, well-being, behaviour and learning
  • Better learner and staff relationships
  • Better whole school policies and procedures, based on the real needs of the learners
  • More inclusive communities, where all learners are encouraged and supported - not just those who are most confident and articulate
  • Increased opportunities for pupils to develop personal and social skills

Learner participation can bring certain issues to the attention of the school which otherwise might have gone unnoticed or simply not been considered. It can bring a greater sense of ownership of the school amongst the learners - and with a sense of ownership comes a sense of responsibility and care.

Learner participation relates to young people being asked their opinion on issues of importance to them, or issues which affect them within their education. The concept of pupil participation originates mainly from Article 12 of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC). Article 12 lays down the right of all children and young people to have a say about what they think should happen, and to have their opinions taken into account when adults are making decisions that affect them.